Oscars 2018: How To Watch

The 90th Annual Academy Awards ceremony will take place tonight, Sunday, March 4, starting at 8pm ET / 5pm PT / 12am GMT, live from the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California. Jimmy Kimmel will be hosting the Oscars 2018 in his usual unfunny style.

As always, streaming the Oscars will be a pain in the arse. ABC will be televising the ceremony, and will also be offering a livestream on their website, and via their app for various fancy-pants mobile and smart-TV platforms. But of course, in a classic example of unnecessarily draconian bullshit, the stream will only be available to people living in specific markets who subscribe to specific TV providers.

Here are the markets: Chicago, Fresno, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, Philadelphia, Raleigh-Durham and San Francisco.

Here are the providers: Comcast, Charter Spectrum, AT&T U-Verse, Verizon and DirecTV, as well as YouTube TV.

If you’re a DirecTV subscriber you’ll be able to access the stream, providing you’re in one of these markets: Albuquerque, Boston, Ft. Smith/Fayetteville, Jackson (Mississippi), Kansas City, Milwaukee, Monterey-Salinas, Oklahoma City, Omaha, Pittsburgh, Portland-Auburn (Maine), Savannah and West Palm Beach.

The Oscars broadcast will also be available to stream through a Sling, Hulu Live TV or YouTube TV subscription. There’ll also be a lot of horseshit on Facebook Watch, including various red carpet and backstage stuff that nobody in their right mind cares about, starting mad early at 6:30 pm ET / 3:30 pm PT. You can torture yourself with that on the Academy’s Facebook Page, and also ABC’s Facebook Page.

If you’re in the UK, you’ve got it easy. The whole thing is being shown exclusively on the Sky Cinema Oscars channel. Through Now TV, you can get a Sky Cinema Pass for a tenner, and if you’re not already subscribed you can nab a two-week free trial and watch it all for nothing. This is the smart thing to do.

We’ll be live-tweeting and live-blogging the entire event, but in the meantime, you can read our preview and predictions to whet your appetite. See you there!

ReadySteadyCut

Ready Steady Cut was established in 2017 and has grown into a respected entertainment news source.

0 thoughts on “Oscars 2018: How To Watch

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: