A League of Their Own season 1 – do the Peaches win the AAGPBL championship?

By Marc Miller
Published: August 12, 2022
View all

This article, “do the Peaches win the AAGPBL championship,” contains spoilers regarding the Amazon original series A League of Their Own (2022) season 1. 

Access the archive of recaps, news, and reviews for A League of Their Own (2022)

The Rockford Peaches started slowly and were at the bottom of the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League (AAGPBL). They began to turn things around when their coach, Dove Porter, left for a coaching job with the Baltimore Orioles. He refused to rest players, scout, or even have regular practices. Carson and Lupe are made co-managers, with eventually Lupe losing her spot for picking a fight with Carson during a game that resulted in a brawl in the middle of the game at the pitcher’s mound.  

A League of Their Own season 1 – do the Peaches win the AAGPBL championship?

Carson brings the team together but receives terrible news. Mr. Baker gets word that the major leagues want the AAGPBL to play in their stadiums next year because the war will continue, and the league will be shut down. To show off the league, they will be scouting the championship series. Since the Peaches are out of the running (they would need to win the next 18 to make the series), they will trade the best players to the final two teams to market themselves to the MLB. Carson and company pull a Lou Brown and lead her team to a remarkable win streak to make the championship. Unfortunately, their best player, Jo (who hits like Babe Ruth), is traded to the Blue Sox, and they will face each other. 

The Blue Sox won the series in five games after the Peaches were down two to none. Carson and company tied the game to go into the bottom of the ninth, but Jo hits a game-winning homerun. However, when running the bases, she trips over first base and hurts her knee. Greta and Carson come to her aid, and the umpire announces the Blue Sox will forfeit if she cannot run the bases and touch home. So, Carson and Greta help her up under Jo’s arms. They help her round the bases, and the entire Peach squad follows behind her. 

What is the history of the Rockford Peaches in the AAGPBL?  

In reality, the AAGPBL ran for nine seasons, from 1943 to 1954. And the Rockford Peaches won four league championships, the most in the league’s history. (The team won the series in 1945, 1948, 1949, and 1959). The league’s top attendance was in 1950 when the league hit its peak of 10 teams and 910,000 fans in attendance. However, this is not the only women’s league at the time. The National Girl’s Baseball League was also in existence, yet not as popular, and ceased in 1954. The fact is that a long history of women’s baseball has been around since 1866 when Vasser college had the first organized women’s team. 

You can watch this series with a subscription to Amazon Prime. 

Amazon Prime Video, News, Streaming Service
View all